The Sustainable Shipping Initiative (SSI) is a non-profit organisation and UK registered charity. It is governed by a Board of Trustees and managed by a Secretariat. SSI receives funding support from members and a range of external sources.

Board of Trustees

The SSI is an independent initiative governed by a Board of Trustees, chaired by two independent members and composed of a mixture of independent members, representatives of member organisations, and SSI’s Executive Director.

The SSI Board of Trustees meets on a periodic basis (at least quarterly) and oversees progress against priorities and SSI’s annual budget; guides SSI strategy and development; and contributes inputs and technical guidance.

The Board of Trustees consists of the following representatives:

John Kornerup Bang

Independent Trustee

Simon Bennett

Swire Shipping

Oriana Brine

Independent Trusteee

Guy Campbell

Independent Trustee

Alastair Fischbacher

Independent Trustee

Katharine Palmer

Lloyd’s Register

David Peel

Independent Trustee

Andrew Stephens

Sustainable Shipping Initiative


SSI is funded through members’ annual fees, in addition to financial and in-kind contributions through a diverse range of sources. SSI annual membership fees cover the running costs, development of working groups as well as contribute to the ongoing operation, development and growth of the initiative.

Specific projects related to SSI’s working groups and priority areas may receive additional funding from members and financial support from a range of other funding sources.